Electrodeposition of Silver Particles on an ITO Substrate in Room Temperature Ionic Liquids (RTILs) of 1-Ethyl-3-Methylimidazolium Tetrafluoroborate (EMIBF4)

Electrodeposition of Silver Particles on an ITO Substrate in Room Temperature Ionic Liquids (RTILs) of 1-Ethyl-3-Methylimidazolium Tetrafluoroborate (EMIBF4)

Qingfei Wang Zhenman Sun Keqiang Ding

College of Chemistry and Materials Science, Hebei Normal University, Shijiazhuang, 050016, P.R. China

Corresponding Author Email: 
19 May 2009
25 January 2010
25 January 2010
| Citation

In room temperature ionic liquids (RTILs) of 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium tetrafluoroborate (EMIBF4), for the first time, silver (Ag) particles were successfully electrodeposited onto an indium tin oxide (ITO)-coated glass substrate by galvanostat and cyclic voltam-metry (CV) methods, respectively. The obtained scanning electron microscopy (SEM) images not only demonstrated that silver particles were fabricated on the ITO substrate, but also indicated that the applied current density is the main factor affecting the morphologies of silver particles prepared by the galvanostat method. Subsequently, the obtained cyclic voltammograms (CVs) indicated that the electrode-position mechanism of Ag particles on the ITO substrate is different from that on the Ag-coated ITO substrate, as was also discussed by chronoamperometry based on the previously developed nucleation mode. Presenting the generation of sliver particles onto an ITO sub-strate in RTILs is the main contribution of this paper.


Silver particles; RTILs; Galvanostat method; Cyclic Voltammetry (CV); Chronoamperometry; Nucleation.

1. Introduction
2. Experimental
3. Results and Discussion
4. Conclusions

This work was financially supported by the Doctor Fund of Hebei Normal University, Key Project of Hebei Province Education Bureau (ZH2007106), Key Project Fund of Hebei Normal University (L2008Z08) and Special Assist Project of Hebei Province Personnel Bureau(106115).


[1] Y. Li, Y. Wu, B. S. Ong, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 127, 3266 (2005).

[2] C. R. De Silva, S. Smith, I. Shim, J. Pyun, T. Gutu, J. Jiao, Z. Zheng, J. Am. Chem. Soc., DOI: 10.1021/ja9014277.

[3] L. Lin , P. Qiu , X. Cao , L. Jin, Electrochim. Acta, 53, 5368 (2008).

[4] W. Zhou,R. Ran , Z. Shao, R. Cai , W. Jin, N. Xu , J. Ahn, Electrochim. Acta, 53, 4370 (2008).

[5] N. Yang, X. Wang, Q. Wan, Electrochim. Acta, 52, 4818 (2007).

[6] T. Welton, Chem. Rev., 99, 2071 (1999).

[7] R. M. Lau, F. Rantwijl, K. R. Seddon, R. A. Sheldon, Org. Lett., 2, 4189 (2000).

[8] M. P.Jensen, Dzielawa, J. A.; Rickret, P.; Dietz, M. L.; J. Am. Chem. Soc., 124, 10664 (2002).

[9] J. S. Lee, N. D. Quan, J. M. Hwang, J.Y. Bae, H. Kim, B. W. Cho, H.S. Kim, H. Lee, Electrochem. Commun., 8, 460 (2006).

[10] K.-Q. Ding, T. Okajima, T. Ohsaka, Electrochemistry,75, 35 (2007).

[11] K.-Q., Ding, J. Chin. Chem. Soc., 54, 1179 (2007).

[12] K.-Q, Ding, Bull. Electrochem., 23, 193 (2007).

[13] A.I. Bhatt, A. M. Bond, J. Electroanal. Chem., 619–620, 1(2008).

[14] J. Zhang, A.I. Bhatt, A.M. Bond, A.G. Wedd, J. L. Scott, C.R. Strauss, Electrochem. Commun., 7, 1283(2005).

[15] K. Kim, N. Man, T. Kim, K. S. Cho, H. Y. Chu, J. Lee, G. Y. Sung, ETRI J., 27, 405(2005).

[16] H. Kim, Howitz, J. S.; Kushto, G.; Pique, A. ; Kafafi, Z. H.; Gilmore, C. M.; Chrisey, D. B. J. Appl. Phys., 88, 6021 (2000).

[17] B. Ballarin, M. C. Cassani, E. Scavetta, D. Tonelli, Electrochim. Acta, 53, 8034 (2008).

[18] X. Jiang, L. Zhang, S. Dong, Electrochem. Commun., 8, 1137 (2006).

[19] K.-Q, Ding, J. Chin. Chem. Soc., 56, 175 (2009).

[20] G. A. Snook , A. S. Best, A. G. Pandolfo, A. F. Hollenkamp, Electrochem. Commun., 8, 1405 (2006).

[21] L. Huang, H.-B. Wei , F.-S. Ke , X.-Y. Fan, J.-T. Li , S.-G. Sun, Electrochim. Acta, 54, 2693 (2009).

[22] M.-Y. Shen, S.-P. Chiao, D.-S. Tsai, D. P. Wilkinson, J.-C. Jiang, Electrochim. Acta, 54, 4297 (2009).

[23] M. Palomar-Pardavé, M. Miranda-Hernández, I. González, N. Batina, Surf. Sci., 399, 80 (1998).

[24] W. J. Lorenz, G. Staikov, Surf. Sci., 335, 32 (1995).

[25] J. Yang, R. Zhang, Y. Xu, P. He, Y. Fang, Electrochem. Commun., 10, 1889 (2008).

[26] K.-Q. Ding, J. Chin. Chem. Soc., 55, 543 (2008).

[27] K.-Q, Ding, F. Wang, M. Zhao. J. Chin. Chem. Soc., 54, 723 (2007).

[28] M. Palomar-Pardavé, M. T. Ramírez, I. González, A. Serruya, B. Scharifker, J. Electrochem. Soc., 143, 1539 (1996).

[29] A.N. Correia, S. A. S. Machado, J. C. V. Sampaio, L. A. Avaca, J. Electroanal. Chem., 407, 37 (1996).

[30] J. N. Broughton, M. J. Brett, Electrochim. Acta, 50, 4814 (2005).

[31] B. R. Scharifker, J. Mostany, M. Palomar-Pardave, I. Gonzales, J. Electrochem. Soc., 146, 1005 (1999).

[32] C. Bjelkevig, J. Kelber, Electrochim. Acta, 54, 3892 (2009).