Characterization of Self-assembled Electrodes Based on Au-Pt Nanoparticles for PEMFC Application

Characterization of Self-assembled Electrodes Based on Au-Pt Nanoparticles for PEMFC Application

E. Valenzuela P.J. SebastianS.A. Gamboa Shine Joseph U. Pal I. Gonzalez 

Energía y Sustentabilidad, Universidad Politécnica de Chiapas, Tuxtla Gutiérrez, Chiapas, México

Centro de Investigación en Energía, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Temixco 62580, Morelos, México

Instituto de Física, Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Puebla, Pue. 72570, México.

Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana, Departamento de Química, 09340, México.

Corresponding Author Email:
29 July 2009
4 August 2009
4 August 2009
| Citation

In this article we report the synthesis and characterization of Au, Pt and Au-Pt nanoparticles impregnated on Nafion membrane for the proton exchange membrane fuel cell (PEMFC) application. Colloidal solutions were used to prepare self-assembled electrodes with nanoparticles deposited on Nafion membrane. The particles deposited on Nafion had good stability and homogeneous distribution along the membrane surface. The impedance results proved an increase in the membrane proton resistance of the self-assembled electrodes compared to unmodified Nafion. The increase in resistance is related to the diminution of the protonic charge carriers in the Nafion nanochannels near the surface due to the channel obstruction by the deposited particles.


PEM fuel cell, Nafion, Au-Pt, Nanoparticles, Protonic conduction.

1. Introduction
2. Experimental Details
3. Results and Discussion
4. Conclusions

The authors acknowledge the grant received from CONACYT through the project CIAM 42146.


[1] W. Smith, Journal of Power Sources; 86 (2000) 74.

[2] T. Susai, A. Kawakami, A. Hamada, Y. Miyake, Y. Azegami, Journal of Power Sources; 92 (2000) 131.

[3] E. Middelman, W. Kout, B. Vogelaar, J. Lenssen, E. de Waal, Journal of Power Sources; 118 (2003)44

[4] H. Chang, P. Koschany, C. Lim, J. Kim, New Materials for Electrochemical Systems, 3 (2000) 55.

[5] D. Raistrick, in: R.E. White, K. Kinoshita, J.W. Van Zee, H.S. Burney, Proc. Symposium on Diaphragms, Separators and Ion Exchange Membranes; 86-13 (1986) 172.

[6] S. Srinivasan, E.A. Ticianelli, C.R. Derouin, A. Redondo, Journal of Power Sources; 22 (1988) 359.

[7] Wu-Hsun Cheng, Kao-Ching Wu, Man-Yin Lo, Chiou-Hwang Lee, Catalysis Today; 97 (2004) 145.

[8] Mark A. Aubart, Bert D. Chandler, Rachael A. T. Could, Don A. Krogstad, Marcel F. J. Schoondergang, and Louis H. Pignolet, Inorganic Chemistry; 33 (1994) 3124.

[9] Don A. Krogstad, Wayde V. Konze, and Louis H. Pignolet, Inorganic Chemistry; 35 (1996) 6763.

[10] D. Gruber, N. Ponath, J. Müller and F. Lindstaedt, Journal of Power Sources; 150 (2005) 67.

[11] M. Besson, A. Kallel, P. Gallezot, R. Zanella, C. Louis, Catalysis Communications ; 4 (2003) 471.

[12] M. Haruta, N. Yamada, T. Kobayashi, S. Iijima, Journal of Catalysis; 115 (1989) 301.

[13] G.J. Hutchings, Journal of Catalysis; 96 (1985) 292.

[14] A.M. Venezia, V. La Parola, V. Nicol?, G. Deganello, Journal of Catalysis; 212 (2002) 56.

[15] Q. Fu, A. Weber, M. Flytzani-Stephanopolous, Catalysis Letter; 77 (2001) 87.

[16] J. Zhong, M.M. Maye, Advanced Materials; 13 (2001) 1507.

[17] M.M. Maye, J. Luo, L. Han, N.L. Kariuki, C.-J. Zhong, Gold Bulletin; 36 (2003) 75.

[18] C. J. Zhong, J. Luo, M.M. Maye, L. Han, N. Kariuki, Proceeding of the GOLD 2003, Vancouver, Canada, September–October (2003).

[19] A.G. Hombrados, L. González, M.A. Rubio, W. Agila, E. Villanueva, D. Guinea, E. Chinarro, B. Moreno and J.R. Jurado, Journal of Power Sources; 151 (2005) 25.

[20] Alex Hakenjos, Marco Zobel, Jan Clausnitzer and Christopher Hebling, Journal of Power Sources; 154 (2006) 360.

[21] E. Bradley Easton and Peter G. Pickup, Electrochimica Acta; 50 (2005) 2469.

[22] S. Slade, S.A. Campbell, T.R. Ralph, F.C. Walsh, Journal of the Electrochemical Society; 149 (2002) 1556.

[23] V. Tricoli, N. Carretta, M. Bartolozzi, Journal of the Electrochemical Society; 147 (2000) 1286.

[24] Jin Liu, Huanting Wang, Shaoan Cheng, Kwong-Yu Chan, Journal of Membrane Science; 246 (2005) 95.

[25] Mohamed S. El-Deab 1, Takeo Ohsaka, Electrochimica Acta, 47, 4255, (2002).

[26] Xianfeng Li, Chengji Zhao, Hui Lu, Zhe Wang, Hui Na, Polymer; 46 (2005) 5820.

[27] Yu Seung Kim, Michael A. Hickner, Limin Dong, Bryan S. Pivovar, James E. McGranth, Journal of Membrane Science; 243 (2004) 317.

[28] M. S. McGovern, E. C. Garnett, C. Rice, R. I. Masel and A. Wieckowski, Journal of Power Sources; 115 (2003) 35.

[29] Shichun Mu, Haolin Tang, Zhaohui Wan, Mu Pan, Runzhang Yuan, Electrochemistry Communications; 7 (2005) 1143.

[30] Yo Jin Kim, won Choon Choi, Seong Ihl Woo, Won Hi Hong, Electrochimica Acta; 49 (2004) 3227.

[31] Jin-Soo Park, Jae-Hwan Choi, Kyeong-Ho Yeon, Seung-Hyeon Moon, Journal of Colloid and Interface Science; 294 (2006) 129.

[32] Jean-Baptiste Jorcin, Mark E. Orazem, Nadine Pébère and Bernard Tribollet, Electrochimica Acta; 51 (2006) 1473.

[33] Kreuer KD. Journal of Membranes Science; 185 (2001) 29